Skip to content

First published in 1983 by G. Nelson Nieuwenhuis, this book offers an in-depth look at the geology, geography, and history of the Sioux County area. Reprints of this excellent resource are available as of April 2008.

From the Greater Sioux County Genealogical Society…

Order your copy today!

Siouxland: A History of Sioux County, Iowa

Price: $50.00 + $3.50 shipping & handling (U.S.)
To order, please send the following:

  1. Your name, mailing address, and email address
  2. Title of book being ordered
  3. Check, cash, or money order for $53.50.(For orders outside the U.S., add $30 for shipping & handling, for a total of $75.00.)


102. S. Main St.
Sioux Center, IA 51250

For more information, please contact Marj Brunsting (722-3851) GSCGS Coordinator.

About the author: 
G. Nelson Nieuwenhuis was a life-long resident of Sioux County, as well as a professor of history and political science at Northwestern College in Orange City.

About the book:
Chapter 1 begins with a look at pre-historic Sioux County, discussing large tusks of mastodons that have been uncovered in Sioux County gravel pits, their remains carried here by glaciers and flood waters.

Hardcover, 360 pages, with pictures, maps, and indexes;
8 1/2″ x 11″.

Chapters include the following:

  • Chapter 1-Geological Foundations – The Prairie Setting
  • Chapter 2-The Indians of Siouxland
  • Chapter 3-Sergeant Charles Floyd
  • Chapter 4-Discovering Siouxland
  • Chapter 5-Captain Jesse Lee Reno
  • Chapter 6-The Story of Some Government Surveyors
  • Chapter 7-The Organization of Sioux County
  • Chapter 8-Calliope
  • Chapter 9-Organization of Townships Part I
  • Chapter 10-Organization of Townships Part II
  • Chapter 11-The English Come to West Sioux
  • Chapter 12-Orange City
  • Chapter 13-Hospers–Newkirk
  • Chapter 14-Towns Along the Milwaukee
  • Chapter 15-Sioux Center
  • Chapter 16-Towns Along the Northwestern
  • Chapter 17-The Twentieth Century
  • Chapter 18-The Troubled Twenties
  • Chapter 19-The Turmoil of the Thirties
  • Chapter 20-World War II
  • Chapter 21-Progress and Prosperity – The 1950s
  • Chapter 22-Churches and Christian Education
  • Chapter 23-Public Schools
  • Chapter 24-Professional Progress
  • Chapter 25-Civil Servants
  • Other sections:
    • “Sum and Substance”
    • Notes, Index, and Bibliography


Nieuwenhuis’ book covers slightly different ground than Story of Sioux County, first published by Charles Dyke in 1942 and also available for order. These works complement each other as comprehensive resources on the Siouxland area.

Sioux Center Public Library

Install Sioux Center Public Library

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”